Lok Sabha elections begin April 7, counting on May 16


Balasore is situeated to the north of Orissa located in the south eastern part of the India surround with (States) West Bengal to the north, Andhra pradesh to the south, Chhattisgrah & Jharkhand west and the Bay of Bengal in her east.and more...

Balasore Job Today
Railway Enquiry
STD and PIN codes
Helpline of Balasore
News & Media
Free SMS
e News Balasore Khabar
e News Paper Anudhyana
Exam of Information
CHSE Exam Time Table
Software Download
Tutorial of all Softwares
Hosting Plane



Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath announces commencement of Lok Sabha polls. Highlights:
11:14 am: Third phase on April 10 to cover 92 constituencies in 14 states.

11:08 am: General election to be held in nine phases on April 7, 9, 10, 12, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and 12; counting on May 16: CEC VS Sampath.

11:01 am: Counting of votes will be held on May 16.

India goes to polls from April 7, results on May 16

General Elections-2014 Schedule of Elections

Arunachal Pradesh: April 9
Assam: April 7, 12 and 24
Bihar: April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and 12
Chhattisgarh: April 10, 17, 24
Goa: April 17
Gujarat: April 30
Haryana: April 10
Himachal Pradesh: May 7
J&K: april 10, 17, 24, 30, may 7
Jharkhand: April 10, 17, 24
Karnataka: April 17
Kerala: April 10
MP: April 10, 17, 24
Maharashtra: April 10, 17 24
Manipur: April 9, 17
Meghalaya: April 9
Mizoram: April 9
Nagaland: April 9
Odisha: April 10, 17
Punjab: April 30
Rajasthan: April 17, 24
Sikkim: April 12
Tamil Nadu: April 24
Tripura: April 7 and 12
Uttar Pradesh: April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and 12
Uttarkhand: May 7
West Bengal: April 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12
Andaman and Nicobar Islands: April 10
Chandigarh: April 12
Dadra and Nagar Haveli: April 12
Daman and Diu: April 30
Lakshwadeep: April 10
Puducherry: April 24


The elections will be held over nine poll days 
spread over the two months

April 7: Two states (six constituencies)
April 9: Five states (seven constituencies)
April 10: 14 states (92 constituencies
April 12: Four states (32 constituencies)
April 17: 13 states (122 constituencies)
April 24: 12 states (117 constituencies)
April 30: Nine states and UT (89 constituencies)
May 7: Seven states (64 constituencies)
May 12: Three states (41 constituencies)
May 16: Counting of votes

Model Code comes into effect 

The Model Code of Conduct for parties and governments comes into force with immediate effect, he said.

The nation will go to polls on April 7, 9, 10, 12, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and May 12 and the whole exercise will be over in 72 days, three days less than the last elections, he added.

The first polling day on April 7 will cover six Lok Sabha constituencies in two states, while the second on April 9 will cover seven constituencies in five states. A total of 92 constituencies will go to polls in 14 states on the third day on April 10, while a small number of five constituencies in three states will be covered on the fourth day on April 12.

The largest chunk of 122 Lok Sabha seats will go to polls in 13 states on April 17, the fifth day of poll, while the sixth day will witness polling in 117 seats in 12 states on April 24. The seventh day of polling on April 30 will choose representatives in 89 constituencies spread over nine states and the eighth day on May 7 will cover 64 seats in seven states.

Polling will conclude on the ninth day on May 12 with elections in 41 constituencies in three states.

Poll days, not phases

Announcing the election schedule, Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath said, this should not be viewed as phases. "They are poll days," he said.

Special camps will be organised at all polling stations on March 9 for voters to verify, add or modify their details in the electoral list.

Election Commission has decided to distribute photo election slips with polling station details at his/her doorstep, within 3-7 days from the date of the poll.

Polls on all Naxal-hit seats on same day

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath announced that all Naxalism-hit seats will be covered in one single day.

He said that the neighbouring states, like UP and Bihar, will go to poll on the same day. Similarly, Delhi and Haryana will have one poll day on April 10.

Jharkhand will have three poll days April 10, 17 and 24, he said.

EC has eyes on use of money

Appealing to all the candidates for ensuring that polls remain peaceful, the Chief Election Commissioner asked them not to use words that cause personal hurt to rivals.

Maitaining that use of money power is a matter of concern for the EC, Sampath said the Commission has taken measures for expenditure monitoring. There will be flying squads, check posts to keep an on money power, he said.

1.1 crore poll personnel on duty

The 2009 polls were held in five phases from April 16 to May 13.

The term of the current Lok Sabha expires on June 1, and the new House has to be constituted by May 31.

It could be the first time the country witnesses elections over such a long period.

An estimated 81.4 crore voters will be eligible to vote in the coming elections with 9.71 crore new voters being added to the rolls since the last elections. The electoral rolls are ready after being updated with January 1 as the cut-off date.

A total of 1.1 crore poll personnel, half of security personnel, will be deployed to ensure a free and fair poll. The database of the civilian staff to be deployed for conducting the polls has been prepared and at least 5.5 million civilians would be deployed.

Paper trail on trial basis, NOTA option

For the first time in parliamentary polls, a system of paper trail for electronic voting will be introduced in some constituencies on a trial basis. A paper trail would help in avoiding controversies in case of a dispute.

The EC has also issued guidelines to political parties asking them to explain the rationale of financing the promises they make in their election manifestos.

From the coming elections, candidates in a parliamentary constituency in bigger states can spend up to Rs.70 lakh on their campaign, up from Rs.40 lakh in 2011. In the 2009 elections, it was Rs.25 lakh.

Another first in the Lok Sabha elections will be the introduction of the ' None of the Above' option, which came into vogue in the Assembly elections a few months ago.







Latest Hindi Movie MP3 Songs :

New Hindi Movie Download (FREE):



Weather in Balasore
Get Your PIN Code or Place/City/Locality
Get Your STD Code or Place/City/Locality
How to keep your Husband's Love
How to keep your Wife's Love
Secrets to a Happy Marriage
Indian Railway PNR Status
Internet Booking
Train Arrival Timings in Balasore
Train Departure Timings in Balasore
Train Seat Availability
Internet Booking
Doctor Phone Number




  www.odisahtrip.com www.shineuniversal.com www.shinetutorial.com www.shineenglish.org